THE PRINCE ALFRED HOTEL
The Prince Alfred hotel was built in 1842 by Mr D Bergin. It was a two-storey timber hotel surrounded by 40 acres of Cotton Fields. The original cold room still stands today, dating back to 1842. Up for sale in 1866 the Booval Hotel was a hardwood timber building and contained 7 rooms with a detached kitchen a piggery and garden, store-room, dairy, five stables, stockyard and milking bail.
In 1961, the Historic Prince Alfred Hotel was destroyed by fire. It was rebuilt and opened in 1963. In 1987, the Johnson Family purchased the hotel from Carlton and have remained passionately independent ever since.
In December 2012, the iconic Ipswich hotel opened its doors to its new Steakhouse, Char’d. The name derives from when the hotel burnt down over 70 years ago and continued serving cold beer out of the cold room; the only part of the hotel not destroyed by the fire.
Locals called it ‘The Charcoal Inn’ because of the charcoal and tin underfoot. The 250 seat steakhouse is setting the standard for dining, with a combination of decor and technology that will ensure a dining experience not to be forgotten. Our focus is on local produce and carefully matched wines.
Plantations Restaurant continues to offer a casual dining experience with a focus on good quality local produce. Our Australian award winning Harry Browns continues to provide customers with low prices every day and exceptional service.
We look forward to seeing you soon at The Prince Alfred Hotel.